Calculate your zodiac sign


When it comes to exploring the world of horoscopes, we immerse ourselves in a mysterious and fascinating universe. This ancient practice is based on the idea that the positions of planets, stars, and celestial bodies at the time of our birth influence our personality, destiny, and even our future. But what exactly is a horoscope and what are the differences between various types of signs, including Mayan, Chinese, and Western zodiac signs? Let's find out together.

The Mysteries of the Western Zodiac

The term "horoscope" comes from two Greek words: "horoskopos," meaning "looking at the hour," and "scopos," meaning "observer." In fact, the horoscope is a kind of celestial observation, a way to look beyond the veil of reality and try to understand its secrets.

The Western Zodiac

The Western zodiac is the one we are most familiar with. It is composed of twelve sun signs, each associated with a specific time of the year. Here is a quick overview of the Western zodiac signs:

  • Aries (March 21 - April 19): Aries is a fire sign known for its determination and courage.

  • Taurus (April 20 - May 20): Taurus is an earth sign associated with stability and determination.

  • Gemini (May 21 - June 20): Gemini is known for its versatility and curiosity.

  • Cancer (June 21 - July 22): Cancer is a water sign, emotional and protective.

  • Leo (July 23 - August 22): Leo is a fire sign, regal and charismatic.

  • Virgo (August 23 - September 22): Virgo is known for its precision and attention to detail.

  • Libra (September 23 - October 22): Libra is associated with balance and harmony.

  • Scorpio (October 23 - November 21): Scorpio is a water sign known for its intensity.

  • Sagittarius (November 22 - December 21): Sagittarius is adventurous and freedom-loving.

  • Capricorn (December 22 - January 19): Capricorn is associated with ambition and discipline.

  • Aquarius (January 20 - February 18): Aquarius is known for its open and progressive mindset.

  • Pisces (February 19 - March 20): Pisces is a water sign, intuitive and compassionate.

The Mysteries of the Mayan Calendar

In addition to the Western zodiac, there are other fascinating astrological systems, such as the Mayan calendar. This ancient Mesoamerican civilization developed an intricate calendar based on twenty different sun signs. Here are a few of them:

  • Imix (Crocodile): Associated with the beginning of everything, this sign represents new beginnings.

  • Kawak (Storm): A sign of transformation and purification.

  • Ajpu (Warrior): Represents victory, energy, and power.

  • Kib (Owl): This sign is associated with knowledge and wisdom.

The Mysteries of the Chinese Zodiac

The Chinese astrological tradition is equally fascinating, if not more. It is based on a twelve-year cycle, each year associated with an animal. Your affinity with a particular animal depends on the year you were born. Here is a quick list of the twelve Chinese zodiac signs:

  • Rat: Intelligent, adaptable, and charismatic.

  • Ox: Reliable, strong, and patient.

  • Tiger: Brave, independent, and competitive.

  • Rabbit: Gentle, caring, and intuitive.

  • Dragon: Charismatic, self-assured, and adventurous.

  • Snake: Wise, mysterious, and determined.

  • Horse: Independent, brave, and adventurous.

  • Goat: Gentle, creative, and artistic.

  • Monkey: Intelligent, fun-loving, and curious.

  • Rooster: Honest, hardworking, and kind.

  • Dog: Loyal, faithful, and protective.

  • Pig: Gentle, altruistic, and loyal.

Differences and Similarities

The different astrological traditions may seem very different, but they share a fundamental idea: celestial positions influence our lives. Each of these traditions has a unique way of interpreting these influences, but ultimately, they all aim to give us a deeper understanding of ourselves and the world around us.

Intriguing, isn't it? So, whether you are a proud Leo, an adventurous Sagittarius, a creative Pig, or a mindful Crocodile, remember that these astrological traditions are here to guide you in life's journey and help you better understand who you are and what the future holds for you. May your lucky star guide you to extraordinary adventures and surprising discoveries.